TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

guess what?
2004-05-14 - 1:28 a.m.

Ok, guess what!

-

No, go on, guess!

-

.

.

.

-

Ok, well, tonight was just like, WHOA! Like, yeah, WOOT!!!! EXCITING!!!!

-

HOORAY!!!!

-

Ok, so it probably won't seem that exciting to youse, but, me & my sister went and played at an open mic night! Like, in front of people and stuff! We sang and played guitar and, yeah, it was like, whoa! Like, you know, whoa?

-

WHOA, DUDES!!!! YEAH!!!! WOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

-

Ahem.

-

No, seriously, this is way more exciting than taking drugs or whatever. I was so totally out of my mind on adrenaline, I was shaking and I was TOTALLY OVERCOME WITH TERROR, and I could barely hold the guitar and my hands were shaking and I forgot the words and lost my place in the song and EVEN SO, it was one of the most exciting things I've EVER DONE!!!! The whole thing is a blur in my memory, I think I sang too low, I couldn't... yeah, it's like, it's a TOTAL BLUR. My sister played bass and I played guitar and sang and then when we went up the second time she sang and played guitar and I played lead and the applause was like, WOW. They are applauding US with VIGOUR and ENTHUSIASM. Like, OH MY GOD this is EXCITING!!!!!

-

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-

It was amazing actually, because we went out to Colyton, which I'd never even heard of before, and I was expecting it to be kind of rough and scary and whatnot, but actually, the people there were really nice and sweet and supportive and you couldn't have asked for a better audience for first-timers. And what's more, the other acts, the other people who were playing, were actually really bloody great, too, in their own various ways. People lost their place and forgot the words and sang out of tune and... see, this is what I love about the west... you know, inner-city people are so snobbish and they... like, the expectations are so much higher and it's like... there's no place for anyone to be ordinary, or something. I don't know quite how to express it. But this was just a quiet little pub out in the middle of bloody nowhere, and... bah, I don't know how to put it. Like, in one way we would've stuck out like sore thumbs but in another way we were just made to feel at home, you know? It was a really beautiful atmosphere, the music was... like, there was this one guy who was singing, you know, "Pretty Woman" and "Stand By Me" and "American Pie" and whatnot, and these drunks went up on stage to sing with him, and they were kind of raucous and loud and whatever but it was all in such a... sweet way, you know, such a generous atmosphere of... love? Forgiveness? Acceptance? Can't find the right words. Anyway, this isn't the place for a west vs. east rant, all I really wanted to say was, today's a special day, a special occasion, we played in public and we'd never done it before and even though I stuffed up I still loved it and, yeah, HOORAH!!!!

-

They CLAPPED!!!!!!!!!!!!

-

"I swear I found the key to the universe

In the engine of an old parked car" - Bruce Springsteen


Previous / Next