TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

THE CAKES, THE CAKES!!!
2004-11-08 - 12:02 p.m.

Budapest is teh roxor. Sorry Paris, I have a new favourite European city. You'll get over it eventually I'm sure.
-
Hmm. Why do I like it so much? Not sure... there are some things that are a little worrying... while most people are very friendly and helpful, there is a certain amount of resentment and an idea that westerners live in golden palaces and so on, which is hard to know how to respond to. Also, the keyboards are a little hard to get used to. But, on the plus side: the architecture is beautiful, not overwhelming like in London or Paris, but very appealing. Most things are within easy walking distance of the centre. Oh, and, yeah...
-
THE CAKES!!! I'm not usually a big fan of cake but the Hungarian cakes are something else. Going into a cake shop or cafe and trying to choose which one you want is like trying to make Sophie's Choice. And the Danube really is blue. Sort of.
-
I still don't know quite how to explain what I like so much. Maybe it's something to do with the feeling of a country that's sort of emerging after a long period of being held under...
-
Hmm.
-
"Were it not just for the jewels I'd close your hand" - David Bowie


Previous / Next