TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

progress
2002-05-19 - 12:19 a.m.

I am playing a very funny, very interesting "game" called progress quest. You can find it yourself here. The novel part of this game is that you are constantly making "progress" just by watching it. There's nothing you can actually do except turn it on. The really interesting thing is that thousands of people are playing this game competitively. Including me. I think it's a wonderful metaphor for the way that so many of us live our lives, as though it were a sort of competition to be successful. Have a go at it. You'll see what I mean.

-

I've been doing my PhD writing first thing in the morning on the advice of my supervisor. The extraordinary effect that this change in routine has had on me within the mere two days I have been doing it is in a way a little scary. It makes me realise, these little things we do, they have an effect. They matter. But then, the response to this shouldn't be fear or anxiety... because they don't help, do they?

-

I owe quite a lot of email to quite a few different people. I think I might go and do something about that. Or at least, think about doing something about that.

-

"And I hope that you won't mind, my dear

When you see my eyes are lined, my dear

It's because I've waited all these years

For your kisses, sweeter than milk

And a touch that's, softer than silk" - Oh Susanna


Previous / Next