TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

I think
2002-05-30 - 10:33 p.m.

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can, I think I can...

-

Today was a good day, I think. I think I learned something important about pride, and vanity. What is self-mortification? Isn't it a form of self-protection? "Whatever ill opinion you may form of me, I have a worse one." Being your own harshest critic becomes a point of pride - and means, of course, you have no sympathy, no mercy for others, who share your human faults, who are weak just as you are. "God is infinitely weak", says Michel Serres, but when we want to be like God we try to make ourselves stronger and stronger, better and better, trying to climb up the ladders until there is no-one above us...

-

"I gained some recognition

But I lost my appetite" - Bob Dylan


Previous / Next