TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

some things, that, uh...
2003-07-02 - 9:21 p.m.

Ever go through a phase where all you can think about is sex? Everything else seems to dissolve into sexual thoughts, you fantasize about strangers on the train...

-

...no, me neither.

-

Seriously though, is this a good thing or a bad thing? Because on the one hand, I have the typically English embarrassment and shame about sexual thoughts and feelings, and also, I think being sex-obsessed has a bad effect on my friendships with women, because I get distracted and then struggle to hide the fact that I'm distracted and... and also I don't think it's really that important, you know, in the grand scheme of things. Like, it'd be better to be obsessed with something useful or that I could potentially... I don't know, make something good out of the obsession. You know, like if you're obsessed with music and you learn new songs and spend more time practising because you're interested and so on...

-

See, but on the other hand the good thing about being obsessed with sex is that it's the kind of thing that a normal human boy should be obsessed with. I don't know, it sort of connects me with and reminds me of my elemental humanity... and I think I spend a lot of time being more or less disconnected from that, you know, wandering around in a world of abstractions, books and jokes and films and theories and arguments and songs and poems and... things. I relate too much to things and not enough to other people, maybe. I miss the human contact that teaching my class gave. Hmm.

-

"Boris the spider!" - John Entwhistle


Previous / Next