TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

boredom
2003-08-02 - 8:35 p.m.

You know, when people put other people down for being boring when I'm around, I get a little twinge, a sort of scared/insecure feeling because I think, often I'm pretty boring. Not to say that I think I'm a boring person altogether, just that... when I'm tired or I've had a long day or I'm feeling a bit weird or I'm enmeshed in an abstract world of deconstructive post-secular Hegelian ethics, or whatever, then I'm not a lot of fun to be around. I can be dull, that's all I'm saying.

-

Anyway, because of this, I feel bad about having a go at people for being boring. But I will anyway. I've decided, I'm sure you'll all be pleased to hear, that the difference between acceptable boringness and unacceptable boringness is that the acceptable bore just keeps quiet and does their own thing, while the unacceptable bore WANTS YOU TO KNOW ALL ABOUT EVERYTHING THAT THEY'RE THINKING RIGHT NOW AND DOESN'T REALLY CARE IF YOU'RE INTERESTED OR NOT BECAUSE THEY JUST NEED AN EAR TO DRONE ON AND ON AND ON AT...

-

Ahem, yeah, anyway, that was the problem with my former Kiwi flatmate, and that's the problem I'm having with a certain person right now. I was watching something on TV on they just walked in and started telling me what they thought of the show I was watching... and I'm like, "Which do you think I care more about, what's actually happenning on the show, or, the intrusion that's preventing me from hearing what's happenning right now, to wit, your WITLESS COMMENTARY?"

-

Not that I actually said any of that, of course. I'm a nice, polite boy. Anyway, I think I'll stop there, I'm doubtless boring you. ;)

-

"Jesus is the way home" - Kate Campbell


Previous / Next