TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

the fateful email
2003-10-27 - 6:54 p.m.

Hello!

Sorry - I didn't get in until late last night and so didn't receive your

message until this morning. I hope you had a great weekend.

Funnily enough I took my cousin, 15, a friend of hers and my Irish boyfriend

to (Name Suppressed) Zoo. I won tickets in a newspaper competition I saw around

the time I spoke to you about zoos! What do you know!

So you're bracing yourself for the coming onslaught of marking. Good Luck.

How many students are you tutoring this session? Must be about thirty

between two classes?

That CD is awesome! I've played it non stop since you gave it to me. Carey,

Love Is A Four Letter Word...op's just looked at the clock!...were some of

my faves! You've got good taste.

I'm still keen to see a movie somtime and so will be in touch. Hope the bike

is healing well.

Take care,

Carla

-

Ok, I've got no idea what's going on here. Something is being communicated to me in a language I don't understand. Normally I would go straight to concluding that she isn't interested but is letting me down gently, hence mentioning the boyfriend casually in another context... but why on earth is she saying she wants to see me again? Isn't that going beyond the call of duty as far as "letting me down" gently goes? And why didn't she mention him before - ie, wouldn't it be obvious after I gave her chocolates after the first date that I was romantically interested, and therefore needed to know about her bf? I'm not cross, I mean, I understand that negotiating relationships is meant to be a minefield of crossed wires and mixed messages, and I do try to follow what's going on with an alert and sensitive mind... but this simply baffles me. I just don't get it. Can anyone translate this into something simple I can understand? Thanks. :)

-

"Momma told me not to look into the sights of the sun

Oh! But that's where the fun is!" - Bruce Springsteen


Previous / Next