TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

we've got something to say
2003-11-22 - 12:14 a.m.

Have you ever noticed how in the theme song from "The Monkees", they say, "we've got something to say", but they don't actually say it? You know the bit: "We're the young generation, and we've got something to say". Unless you think that what they've got to say is "Hey hey we're the Monkees!", but I don't think that really qualifies as something relevant to the whole "young generation". This used to bother me quite a bit. I think I have thought about this line many, many times.

-

It bothers me that people don't listen to the lyrics of songs. I am a frightful snob. But, how can you recommend a song to someone, how can you say that something is a great song, if you don't know what the lyrics are? This is what makes me angry about the success of bands like Jet and The Strokes. And Live! My god! My moron kiwi flatmate who I no longer live with bought that "Birds of Pray" album they released a little while ago, and I listened to the entire thing, and it was the dullest pile of garbage I ever heard! EVERY SINGLE SONG SOUNDED THE SAME! And not just the same as each other! No, every moment in every song sounded the same as every other moment! It was fucking dreadful.

-

I'm a snob. I have to stop it. I might have written about this before... probably. But... but what, I don't know. I despair of being able to talk to people. I despair of ever feeling like I belong in this life... there's this great big bloody mainstream out there, and I will never fit into it. I will never like it. I... argh. Argh. I don't want to be a snob. But I am. I am a snob. No I'm not. Argh.

-

The Monkees were alright. I mean, "Last Train to Clarksville" is cool, and a few other things... there's a joke song, "Gonna Buy Me a Dog" or somesuch, that I like. It's just that line... if you're going to announce to the world that you have an important political message to convey, then say something. Otherwise you're just appropriating a style that belongs to something sacred for the sake of making money...

-

Ok, I'm rambling. Time to stop. Hey, has anyone else seen the film "Ararat"? I'd be interested to hear what you thought of it...

-

"You know I never was good looking

But now I'm too old to let that get me down" - Chris Smither


Previous / Next