TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

idol talk costs lives
2003-11-24 - 12:56 a.m.

Ok, this entry arrives hot on the heels of the last one, but I wouldn't bother going back for the last one. Meandering self-pitying garbage.

-

Instead, read on! For I propose to astound you! With! This!

-

Angels Brought Me Here

It's been a long and winding journey

But I'm finally here tonight

Picking up the pieces

Walking back into the light

Into the sunset of your glory

Where my heart and future lies

There's nothing like that feeling

When I look into your eyes

My dreams came true

When I found you

I found you

My miracle

If you see what I see

You're the answer to my prayers

And if you feel

The tenderness I feel

You would know

It would be clear that

Angels brought me here.

When I'm here before you

It feels like I've been born again

Every breath is your love

Every heartbeat beats your name

My dreams came true

Right in front of you

My miracle

If you can see what I see

You're the answer to my prayers

And if you can feel

The tenderness I feel

You would know

It would be clear that

Angels brought me here.

-

Ok, for those of you not in Australia, this is the first single being released by Guy Sebastian, winner of Australian Idol. And what I want to ask you, ladies and gentlemen, is, what the fuck is this song about?

-

Ok, the protagonist has had long and "winding journey". (I can just about accept that a journey might be winding, although it's dubious.) From where, or why, we are not told. But he's finally "here tonight". Ok, so the moment that the journey has been leading to is this moment. "Picking up the pieces" is a cliche of course, but more importantly, again, no hint of what he's picking up the pieces of, or why. "Walking back into the light" is another cliche, although at least this gives us some hint about his journey - he's walking out of the darkness? "Into the sunset of your glory" is a very odd phrase here, because it suggests of course that whoever he is singing it to was once glorious, but now that glory is disappearing. So why is this where his heart and future lies? "Nothing like the feeling when I look in your eyes" is another cliche, but at least this makes it clear that this is a love song. Addressed directly from the singer to the listener. Ok. Still no explanation of the long and winding journey, though. Or the sunset of your glory.

-

But then, the strangest part is the last bit of the chorus, where we are supposed to be swept away by the melodrama of it all, where it goes "If you knew the tenderness I feel then you would know, it would be clear, that Angels brought me here". Because, he's basically saying, if you knew how amazing MY love and MY tenderness were, you would think I was a gift to you STRAIGHT FROM GOD. Now, tell me, how many people are that arrogant when they are declaring their love to someone? Isn't one supposed to be amazed and awed by the person one loves, rather than the magnitude of one's own feeling for them? And what's more, it's almost like he's berating her (assuming it's a her; there's no reason inherent in the song why it couldn't be a man) for being so dull and unfeeling as to fail to realise that he is her gift from god.

-

Seriously, most love songs, no matter how apparently thin and cliched they are, make more sense than this does. This bothers me. Things like "I Wanna Hold Your Hand" or "Love is in the Air" or "I Wanna Know What Love Is" make sense in a way that this doesn't. Doesn't it bother you?

-

Doesn't it?

-

"Burn down the disco

Hang the blessed DJ" - The Smiths


Previous / Next