TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

I feel sad
2004-01-24 - 4:09 a.m.

Uh, this is just a spacer entry. I'll write something real tomorrow.

-

2 Samuel 13:

1: And it came to pass after this, that Absalom the son of David had a fair sister, whose name was Tamar; and Amnon the son of David loved her.

2: And Amnon was so vexed, that he fell sick for his sister Tamar; for she was a virgin; and Amnon thought it hard for him to do any thing to her.

3: But Amnon had a friend, whose name was Jonadab, the son of Shimeah David's brother: and Jonadab was a very subtil man.

4: And he said unto him, Why art thou, being the king's son, lean from day to day? wilt thou not tell me? And Amnon said unto him, I love Tamar, my brother Absalom's sister.

5: And Jonadab said unto him, Lay thee down on thy bed, and make thyself sick: and when thy father cometh to see thee, say unto him, I pray thee, let my sister Tamar come, and give me meat, and dress the meat in my sight, that I may see it, and eat it at her hand.

6: So Amnon lay down, and made himself sick: and when the king was come to see him, Amnon said unto the king, I pray thee, let Tamar my sister come, and make me a couple of cakes in my sight, that I may eat at her hand.

7: Then David sent home to Tamar, saying, Go now to thy brother Amnon's house, and dress him meat.

8: So Tamar went to her brother Amnon's house; and he was laid down. And she took flour, and kneaded it, and made cakes in his sight, and did bake the cakes.

9: And she took a pan, and poured them out before him; but he refused to eat. And Amnon said, Have out all men from me. And they went out every man from him.

10: And Amnon said unto Tamar, Bring the meat into the chamber, that I may eat of thine hand. And Tamar took the cakes which she had made, and brought them into the chamber to Amnon her brother.

11: And when she had brought them unto him to eat, he took hold of her, and said unto her, Come lie with me, my sister.

12: And she answered him, Nay, my brother, do not force me; for no such thing ought to be done in Israel: do not thou this folly.

13: And I, whither shall I cause my shame to go? and as for thee, thou shalt be as one of the fools in Israel. Now therefore, I pray thee, speak unto the king; for he will not withhold me from thee.

14: Howbeit he would not hearken unto her voice: but, being stronger than she, forced her, and lay with her.

15: Then Amnon hated her exceedingly; so that the hatred wherewith he hated her was greater than the love wherewith he had loved her. And Amnon said unto her, Arise, be gone.

16: And she said unto him, There is no cause: this evil in sending me away is greater than the other that thou didst unto me. But he would not hearken unto her.

17: Then he called his servant that ministered unto him, and said, Put now this woman out from me, and bolt the door after her.

18: And she had a garment of divers colours upon her: for with such robes were the king's daughters that were virgins apparelled. Then his servant brought her out, and bolted the door after her.

19: And Tamar put ashes on her head, and rent her garment of divers colours that was on her, and laid her hand on her head, and went on crying.

-

Verse 15 is the part that gets me. This is the scary part; people who do evil hate their victims.

-

"In the USA

You can work your way

To the head of the line" - Stephen Sondheim


Previous / Next