TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

no, funny
2004-06-02 - 9:59 p.m.

I'm extremely bad at saying "no" when people ask me to do things for them. Also, I'm not much good at asking other people to do things for me. This is a bad combination. I feel tired today.

-

FUNNY! Or at least, I think so. :) Ah, what's funny, I hear you ask, metaphorically if not literally? Well, at David Jones in the city they have a giant new advertisement for some new crap... eye balm or time fighting serum or earlobe rejuvenating lotion... you know, that sort of crap. Anyway, they've called it "La Mer", which Google tells me is the French for "The Sea", or "sea", apparently. Anyway, the genius who designed the packaging decided that to give it that cool, hip, edgy look, they would write the product's name on it in all-caps, with tall letters and only a very small gap between the two words - ie, the gap between letters in-word is barely smaller than the gap between the end of the first word and the beginning of the second. Well, what is the net result of this ingenious feat of graphical design?

-

LAMER

-

I laughed at it as I walked past, and then turned around and walked back so I could have another laugh at it. Best part of my day. I think I may take my camera next time I'm on my way through.

-

"That's what you get for loving me" - Gordon Lightfoot


Previous / Next