TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

placement
2004-09-06 - 11:16 a.m.

This review had me laughing out loud in a public place. Also, a little bit sad. Hmm.

-

I'm over living in a dormitory. I'm going to move into a motel with a room of my own. Soon I'll either be making money and able to afford it, or getting ready to leave the country. But... yeah. Wandering around looking at tourist attractions is all very well, but at some point you need to spend a whole day lying in bed reading, and in a dormitory, you just can't do that.

-

Hmm, something cool about Korea... have I mentioned how cheap everything is? It's funny how rapidly your expectations adjust. I went into a vegetarian restaurant here, it was a nice place, classy decor, good service... I ordered a meal and it came with four different side dishes and this kind of interesting cold tea. Yeah, delicious vegetarian food, great service, um... and I went to pay and I thought that it was meant to be 10,000 won, but I'd misread the menu and it was actually 7000 won. In Australian money, that's about $8. Now, this was in the middle of the tourist district in a classy restaurant. If I go a little off the beaten track into a slightly humbler place I can get pretty much the same meal for $3. Pair of socks is $1. Um. At one place that seemed a little dodgy they were selling an MP3 player for about $30. I saw a cello for $50. If I thought I had room in my backpack, I would be absolutely loaded down with this stuff because... well, it's hard to resist a bargain, innit?

-

Still looking for work... I know, I've barely been here a week, but I'm not very keen on it. :(

-

Ooh, and there's a very interesting discussion by the lovely meph on something I wrote a while ago, and which I feel I should write a response to, because there's a lot in it... and I will, later. :)

-

"I used an old coat for a pillow" - Jon Bon Jovi


Previous / Next