TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

Guitar Goodness
2004-09-08 - 5:59 p.m.

Guess what? Go on, guess. GUESS!!!

-

Alright, I'll tell you. I bought a guitar today. In the Dongdaemun market in Seoul. It's a solid-top acoustic guitar, which means that to buy the equivalent thing in Australia would cost an absolute minimum of $500. A good ply-top guitar will cost about $200, although I have seen them for less. This baby cost me 35,000 won, which in dollars is... maybe $40. I didn't even haggle. I've been told you can haggle, but to be honest, when I'm buying something for less than a tenth of what I think it's worth I feel a bit petty haggling, know what I mean?

-

There might be some problems taking it to England/Australia, but hey, if it gets damaged, it's not like I've actually paid $500 for it, right?

-

I moved from the backpacking place I was in to a single room in a place that's a lot more cozy and friendly. It's a bit more expensive but I wasn't happy in that other place and I wanted to move on... that's something I love about travelling. Had enough of where you are? Pack camp and move, kiddo. Just like that. Also, my Korean is coming along nicely... I negotiated the whole guitar-buying thing without resorting to using English at all.

-

Did I mention how happy I am about this guitar?

-

"My pockets full of sand" - Gordon Lightfoot


Previous / Next