TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

something nice, something...
2004-09-09 - 9:29 p.m.

Something I like about Korea: you see people holding hands, or with their arms around each other, a lot more. Not couples, I mean, just friends out together or kids or whatever. I assume it's not a gay thing as it would be in Australia because that's strongly taboo here. That's a bad thing about Korea, I guess, although it doesn't affect me personally. But it's nice to see that people are physically affectionate.

-

Something I don't like; the slowly growing feeling that the idea of working here is going to turn out to be a bust. It's going to be humiliating to have to admit this to my family and friends in Australia. For this reason more than anything else I'm going to stick it out a bit longer, at least another two weeks. The longer I stay here, the more I know about how to best look for work, the better my Korean gets, the better my chances are, although... it also means that the total amount of time I can offer to work for becomes less which makes me a less attractive candidate. I must remember to buy a phonecard. Ok.

-

Another thing: Korean pop music is really bad, and yet, it is growing on me. Also, if I had a record player and some way to transport them, I would have bought about 500 LPs by now. The temptation to buy stuff that I'm not going to be able to transport is very grave. Getting the guitar was bad enough. Ah well. Also, I did discover that the guitar wasn't a solid top after all; should've known it was too good to be true. Nonetheless, it has a nice sound and it feels good and, hey, I got something for a fifth of what it's worth rather than a tenth; should I complain?

-

As a backpacker, especially if you stay in dorms, you meet a lot more people than you otherwise would. My conclusion at the end of a week of doing this is, I don't like most people, but I do like some people. If it weren't for the fact that I'll never see the people who I do like again, it would probably be worth putting up with the crap people in order to get to them. Not that the crap people are actually "crap people", I don't mean that in an elitist way, I just mean I don't like them. Hmm.

-

Ok, back to the real world...

-

"My eyes won't let me hide" - Stevie Wonder


Previous / Next