TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

decisions, decisions...
2004-09-17 - 9:02 p.m.

I hate making decisions. And here I am faced with a big one. I can stay in Korea for the sake of a one-month contract which would pay, uh let me see. 25,000 won an hour for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week for 4 weeks. 2.5 million won? Is it really that much? Hmm. That's quite a bit of money. And it would be a chance to really get to know Korea better, learn some more of the language, meet people I wouldn't otherwise meet, do some good here, &c &c. Also, I wouldn't have to return to Australia admitting that my whole idea of coming to Korea and finding work here was mad and irresponsible and bound to fail. Instead I could return trailing clouds of glory, blah blah blah. But, on the other hand, I've just discovered, that, almost certainly, I am still being paid my scholarship. Of course, this is some kind of administrative error and I ought to correct it and tell them to stop paying it, but it sort of means that I can just go ahead and have a holiday now and not worry about money. And, having begun to entertain the idea of going to England earlier than I'd previously planned it does have a certain appeal because... there's lots of lovely people in England that I would love to see either again or for the first time, whereas Korea is more or less barren of human interaction for me, except for the occasional bout of trying-to-communicate-in-pidgin-Korean that I do enjoy but doesn't really, you know, allow me to articulate all the whateveritis that goes in my brain/soul and cries out to be communicated, if you see what I mean. So, yeah. Hmm. Hmmmmmmmm.

-

I hate making decisions. I sort of feel like having the PKD gives me a free pass on having to do things that are "sensible" rather than just doing what I want to, because... well, with limited time to go then I don't feel obliged to waste all that much of it satisfying nebulous obligations which I don't see the point of, uh, if you follow me. So, whereas I might once have stayed in Korea and taken this job just for the sake of not being ashamed of myself when I went back, I'm not really wanting to factor that into the decision making process... Um. Oh yeah, and there's the fact that working here would be illegal and could potentially land me with a fine or briefly in jail. That probably should figure in my calculations too. I mean, it's not very likely but I should consider it.

-

Also, if I started working here then the money would mean I could tell the scholarship people to stop paying it which might save me quite a bit of trouble later figuring out how to repay the incorrect payments. 2.5 million won is about 2,200 US dollars or 1,200 british pounds. It's real money. And five hours a day, five days a week is the kind of low-intensity workload which would suit me rather well. :) Hmmmmmmmmm.

-

Hmmmmmmmmmm.

-

That money wouldn't be free and clear, mind. Because it's short term they won't be paying accommodation or any of that jazz... 200,000 won a week for accommodation times 8 extra weeks here is... 1.6 million won! Ouch... Sorry, just doing mental math out loud here... if I stayed in dorms instead it could be 85,000 won a week, that gives a figure that's more like it... but who wants to live in a dorm for 2 months and come home from work to a dorm and all that bullshit? Argh. Hmm. Hmmmm.

-

Sorry, I'm rambling. Tell me what you think I should do or something. Maybe next time I write my mind will be made up...

-

"Gotta get my hands on that minimum wage" - Richard Thompson


Previous / Next