TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

angry boy
2004-10-18 - 12:00 a.m.

I've been reading the Harry Potter books... I read the first three ages ago, finished the Goblet of Fire sometime last week and I'm currently about 200 pages into the Order of the Phoenix. I've been enjoying them a great deal, except...
...WHY THE FUCK CAN'T HARRY CONTROL HIS TEMPER?? WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT BOY!!! EVERY TEN SECONDS THERE'S SOME RIDICULOUSLY OVERBLOWN EXPLOSION OF RAGE, USUALLY DIRECTED AT SOMEONE WHO DOESN'T DESERVE IT!!!! YOU'RE FIFTEEN, BOY, NOT FIVE, GROW UP!
-
I guess she's just giving him a bit of an edge, making him into a typical angry teenager and whatnot, but I do hope he gets over it, because it really pisses me off.
-
In other news, I was approached by some people today who wanted to talk about God, and I wore out their patience. This has to be some kind of record. My memory of why I don't like Paul was a bit fuzzy though... if there was a Bible around I would give myself a bit of a refresher. The only thing I could recall was what Bertrand Russell had said about Paul's view of marriage, being that its main purpose must be the reduction of sexual immorality. In Paul's view, only total sexual abstinence is truly permitted, but since some people are weak and will end up succumbing to sinful desires, then they ought to be married, because sex within marriage, while still not entirely approved of by God, is at least not so evil as the other kind. Nothing about love at all. Still, I wasn't able to muster my arguments as I would have liked... not that it really mattered, though. In a way it was nice to chat to a stranger about the meaning of life and stuff.
-
It would probably wear thin if it happened again very soon, mind.
-
Apparently the word "smidgen" is Scottish.
-
"Don't marry her" - The Beautiful South


Previous / Next