TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

plunkett and mclaine
2004-11-13 - 7:42 p.m.

I�m really, really happy. This is a bit strange because last night I was really, really fucking unhappy. Let me do some kind of recap-y stuff.
-
Train back from Szeged was nice. Checked into a new hostel in Budapest with interesting communist-era architecture. Dinner, shopping, blah. Went to bed, and like, the bed is this double-bunk thing that�s really, really rickety so whenever I move, even slightly, never mind turning over, I�m talking about just moving an arm or whatever, the whole thing kind of shakes and makes a creaking noise. This doesn�t bode well for a good night�s sleep. Then I went to sleep trying to read "The Ambassadors" (seriously, Mr James, you might be smart but you are also really fucking hard work) and was woken 3 hours later as everyone else was coming in from dinner. So. I ended up lying in bed awake for about 5 hours trying not move even slightly, while the guy beneath moved around every hour or so shaking the bed around, then my bladder was full so I had to get out of bed without making too much noise (not easy...) and then I finally got to sleep only to wake up 3 hours later and have to go catch the plane. So, yeah, um, badness. There was a guy at the airport going up to strangers and talking to them about Jesus, which I normally I could handle but I felt very tired and he seemed to be a bit crazy, so I was avoiding him. Um. Flight to Berlin was uneventful except that the clouds were really, amazingly, heart-stoppingly beautiful. I like clouds. I can�t really describe them... sort of a layer of thickly textured "fluffy" clouds with another layer above them of almost-transparent "wispy" clouds all with the glow of golden sunlight across them...
-
Um, yeah, then I arrive in Berlin and first thing I discover I�ve been robbed. There was some back-up cash in my checked luggage and when I checked for it is was gone. I think the airline people stole it, but, meh, what can you do? They didn�t take my camera at least, and the amount of money wasn�t huge, so I�m not bothered, really. It�s like the sleeping-at-Luton-airport thing, really, it�s the kind of mishap that in a way adds to your sense of the journey being an adventure and not just a giant game of geographical connect-the-dots.
-
Now I�m in Berlin and for reasons I have no insight into whatsoever I feel wildly, deliriously happy. Where this sudden access of joy came from I have no guess, whatsoever. Life just seems good. Hmm.
-
Three days to kill in Berlin... what shall I do?
-
"Mary took to running with a travelling man" - Rodney Crowell


Previous / Next