TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

more on oslo
2004-11-18 - 3:38 p.m.

It snowed in Oslo last night. It was so, so stunningly beautiful, I felt overwhelmed with happiness. This sort of beauty must act as some compensation to the locals for the unbearable cold and unspeakable expense. I bought 3 biscuits and a bottle of water for A$10. I'm planning to live on my fat stores for the remainder of my time here. :|
-
Today I was walking around in Frogenparken looking at all the sculptures (which are teh awesome, btw, pics later) and I slipped on some ice and a bottle of vodka I had in my bag - Hungarian paprika vodka, no less - smashed. Also, I was a bit shocked or something and I screamed. Anyway, unpacking my bag and cleaning out the vodka and broken glass in the freezing cold was no fun. Ah well. Also, I felt rather humiliated walking back to the hostel with the smell of vodka heavy on me, convinced that everyone around me was looking at me and thinking "drunkard!" to themselves...
-
Really, though, the beauty of the snowfall last night makes up for everything. To the people I live here I guess this is just a commonplace thing but, yeah, I was really transported by it. And there's something about seeing a group of happy screaming kids having a snowball fight... I don't know. I'm a lucky boy.
-
"Roland was a warrior from the land of the midnight sun
With a Thompson gun for hire, and fighting to be done" - Warren Zevon


Previous / Next