TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

old professions
2005-02-24 - 2:04 a.m.

I'm going back to teaching this semester. This seems like really good news for some reason; I think I've missed it, the contact, the kind of... solidity that it has. Writing my thesis sometimes feels like whistling in the dark... but if I can get someone interested in sociology, or if I can explain something so that somebody understands it when they didn't understand it before, I don't need to know if it's going to any practical use; I know I've done something good.
-
Speaking of whistling in the dark... I was in the sociology section of Gould's today, a big old secondhand bookstore, and I tell you, it's enough to give an academic nightmares. There are tons (literally) of old sociology books in there and the vast majority of them deserve nothing better than to be used for landfill. Old pulp fantasy and sci-fi books can be just as pleasurable to read 40 years after their heyday has passed... but the work of midlevel academics from the 60s and 70s isn't even entertaining. Speaking of old fantasy books... the reason I was in there was because I had a look at this site last night and was inspired to go look for some Lord Dunsany... I like reading reviews of things.
-
"I was always thinking of games that I was playing
Trying to make the best of my time" - Neil Young


Previous / Next