TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

titles get difficult after a while
2005-02-28 - 2:36 a.m.

Audience... writing for an audience...
-
A book is like a long, long story told by one person in one voice, without any chance of the listener interrupting or responding in any way.
-
Except it isn't.
-
But... hmm. It's like... do books get written because someone wants a chance to tell their story without being interrupted?
-
I've been wondering lately... it seems like most things aren't worth saying unless you're saying them to someone who will benefit from you saying it. All this stuff is accumulated in my head but what do I do with it? Where is it going to go? I get involved in arguments on internet discussion boards but it seems kind of pointless... I guess what I really want is to be faced with a curious other. Because... it seems in large part my own curiosity has been sated. Not entirely, not for all time, not on all subjects... but the ravenous hunger for more knowledge which marked so much of the earlier part of my life... seems to be gone. I think I need the help of others to waken my mind... this is what I'm looking for in dialogue... because the "information" which just sits inert in the mind is nothing, it's useless, mere "stuff"... without the animating spirit provided by some desire to achieve something with it then it doesn't feel like knowledge at all.
-
I don't mean to sound regretful or nostalgic for something I've lost. I guess I'm just trying to... map out the dimensions of the new space I find myself in.
-
"He may be a fool but he's our fool
If they think they're better than him they're wrong" - Randy Newman


Previous / Next