TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

thought experiment
2005-03-17 - 1:12 a.m.

Just thinking about intelligence testing, and it came to me... the assumption on the part of the tester will always be that they are testing to what degree their subjects are less intelligent than themselves. The reason being, how do you test how much more intelligent than yourself someone else is? How would you know what questions to ask?
-
To put it another way: imagine if you had to think of one question, just one, where someone equally intelligent to yourself would be able to answer it correctly, but someone marginally less intelligent than yourself would get it wrong. I bet you couldn't do it. I certainly... I wouldn't even know where to begin to come up with such a question.
-
Which shows that... it has to be intuited. Intelligence, I mean. Any attempt to quantify or objectify some thing called "intelligence" is really nothing more than an attempt to distort an intuition so that it won't look like intuition anymore.
-
This applies to a lot of other things, actually. Hmm.
-
There was something else but I've forgotten it.
-
Sometimes I'm quite chuffed about being alive.
-
"Ooh baby do you know what that's worth?" - Belinda Carlisle


Previous / Next