TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

Paree
2004-06-20 - 12:37 a.m.

You know what I think? There's something wrong with a world in which Justin Timberlake is a celebrity. There's plenty of other celebrities who I don't care much for, of course. But even someone like... even someone like Shannon Noll, who I think is dreadful, I can "get" why he might have a certain appeal to some people... you know, he projects that "ordinary Aussie bloke" thing, he's... a decent enough singer by pop standards... it's like, ok, he makes me cringe, but I can sort of get it. Plenty of other examples in that category. But Mr Timberlake? He's a fuckin' dweeb, pardon my language. And, I'm a nerd, I know a dweeb when I see one. Except, like the very worst and most painfully embarrassing of dweebs, he doesn't know that he is one. He's slimy. And his music is boring and totally devoid of anything. Anything at all. Bloody disco music has more substance than his tripe.

-

Sorry, just went to a party, very much against my inclination, and guess what somebody put on the CD player? That along with the "I<3JT" T-shirt really put me on edge... then came home and watched "Scarface". That's a great movie. I like watching movies more than I like talking to people. This is probably a Bad Sign.

-

For some reason, life seems more difficult at the moment. Not that there's anything especially difficult that I have to do... it just seems harder to do the ordinary stuff.

-

You know what I think happens? I think people reach a certain age and they stop feeling as though they are allowed to have certain categories of problems. You know, it's like, as a teenager, you're supposed to be confused, upset, unsure of your place in the world, &c. And then people turn 20 and make fun of all that stuff, "teen angst, ha ha, yes, I went through a phase..." and they speak contemptuously of their younger selves... but basically, I don't think any of those things ever completely goes away. Life is bloody confusing. And sometimes, you really need to be sad and confused and lost... these aren't juvenile emotions. I feel ashamed of having them because I think I should be "over it". But I'm not. This is my life, and... you know, I like it. I want to have the sort of life I'm having. I just wish I could somehow answer back to this inner voice which is always finding fault with me... for what, for having feelings? Bah, shut up, inner voice, you're stupid!

-

Is it just me, or is it natural to imagine that the correct answer to the question "How ya gonna keep 'em down on the farm after they've seen Paree?" is quite lewd?

-

"See your old friends and it's fresh as dew

See what's new and it's all the same to you" - Tanita Tikaram


Previous / Next