TITHONUS' DIARY!!


New - Archives - Profile - Notes - Email - Design - Diaryland

Much muchness
2003-12-04 - 12:13 a.m.

Ok, I wanted to record this guestbook exchange between me and Mik because it might help to understand what I'm talking about with this commitment issue. So here's her, signing my gbook:

"I don't think commitment is what happens when you run out of options, but rather that it is the option that appeals most to you..."

And here's me, replying:

"Ok, but the problem then is that if you "commit" to something you find most appealing at the time, what if an opportunity comes up later for an alternative that turns out to be even more appealing? If your only basis for commitment in the first place was that it was the best option available, won't your original commitment immediately melt away like ice-cream on an Australian pavement?"

-

In a sense, part of what commitment involves is agreeing to forego better opportunities in the future, for the sake of that commitment... which raises the question, why then, would anyone ever commit to anything? For a long time now I've though of commitment as a kind of sacrifice... I mean, one that's made willingly, for the sake of getting something in exchange. But that's not how I feel about my commitment to academic life - the commitment isn't a sacrifice. But what I don't know is why it isn't. What makes the difference?

-

Ok, now, colour and movement.

-

-

And more.

-

-

And still more.

-

-

And the one that might give you epilepsy:

-

S

p

o

i

l

e

r

S

p

a

c

e

-

-

What do you think are the chances someone would follow one of these banners?

-

"Tweeter and the monkey man were hard up for cash

They stayed up all night selling cocaine and hash" - Bob Dylan - Addendum: The epileptic one was just a bit too harsh, so I got rid of it, and one of the others was a bit too similair to the other, so I got rid of it too. Should be plenty of self-hypnosis possibilities in what's left, though. :)


Previous / Next